Printer not extruding after 1st print

I’m new to 3D printing and am trying to troubleshoot the UPBOX printer at our firm. I’ve managed to set it up and printed a couple of basic models out of which one turned out well. I’ve got 2 problems, problem #1 being the main one.

1. The extruder doesn’t extrude after one or a couple of prints. When I clean the gear (which barely has 1 or 2 particles caught in it) and extrude, it does so perfectly and I can then go ahead and print a model but when I try doing it again after the model is printed, it doesn’t extrude and then I have to go about cleaning the gear again (which is still clean). I’ve tried turning off and turning on the machine before the 2nd extrude/print to see whether that changes anything but it doesn’t. The only thing that fixes it is when I remove the print head and clean the gear. (Haven’t tried just removing the print head and placing it back in). This is causing a lot of annoyance because I cannot expect the user to open the print head to clean the gear every time.

2. The second issue I have is related to printing. I have tried adjusting the nozzle head but I can’t seem to find the right height. Auto-detection doesn’t work very well hence I manually adjust it. The first layer seems to scrape off and the second layer stays on. However, if it is a delicate layer or has lots of twists and turns, the plastic gets caught in the head and I lose some detail. How can I best adjust the height of the nozzle?

Thanks in advance!

Hello Dragonrider,

Which material are you printing?
The extrusion could be due to:

1. nozzle height value too big, nozzle too close to platform
  2. material printing temperature too high
  3. filament diameter incosistent
    for 2 and 3 if you are using UP fila ABS included, should not be happening.